History, tradition and prestige

166 years

The Universidad de Santiago has its founding origins in the creation of the School of Arts and Crafts in 1849.


12 Presidents

Our institution has three important historical landmarks: its birth as the School of Arts and Crafts (1849), its redefinitions as State Technical University (1952), and as Universidad de Santiago de Chile (1981). In the last two stages, it has been directed by 12 presidents; Santiago Labarca (1957-1959) and Henry Kirberg (1968-1973) are outstanding names in this group.


7 Faculties

Together, they offer 66 undergraduate programs. It is also important to mention the Bachelor’s Program and the School of Architecture, besides a wide and diverse high-quality teaching offer.


The President

He is the main individual authority of the University and is elected by the academics, the same as the deans and directors of departments and schools. The University also has collective bodies: the University Directorate, the Academic Council and the Faculty and Department Councils


6 years

Until 2020, our University is accredited in all required and optional: Undergraduate Teaching, Institutional Strategic Management, Research, Graduate Teaching and Outreach and Engagement. We are one of the eight most complete Chilean universities. 



Universidad de Santiago is the 3rd best university, according to the opinion of Chilean high- school students across the country (Higher Education Barometer, Mori, 2014).

It is among the top four Chilean universities, as ranked by America Economía 2012, which evaluates objective aspects of teaching, research, student quality and infrastructure, among others.

It is in the 6th place, according to an opinion survey into the best Chilean universities aimed at executives and elite professionals (Qué Pasa magazine, 2012; Special Edition).